A powerful, almost completely preserved defensive trench discovered only a few years ago beneath the Church proves that the village was built in uncertain times “Egilolves”, so said today almost 1700 souls counting and 662 above the sea, the village at the time. On the southern slope of the Argentales, such as on a pulpit, the visitor enjoys beautiful days, and there are quite a few, the views of hilly Westallgau with the Nagelfluhkette and his King, the high ridge. Right at the entrance to the village square an old farm, lovingly restored. Village barn is written above the entrance. It houses a Hall, a living room. Lovingly he’s designed, imitated an old farmhouse. He is one of the many gems of Eglofs.
It was built and renovated by the citizens themselves. In the flat part of the old farm is a music and oven tile museum. In addition to many musical events held here also theater. Behind the farm, at the quiet angle tucked the former entrance to the farmyard. He is the Eglofser open-air festival.
The village writes no dry history books, it does its history for many years. Eglofs is the village of the “free”. Once in the year 1243 bought free Eglofser with 1000 marks in silver by the princely reign, a remarkable team effort. As a reward, they reached the Imperial immediacy. They were under the emperor at that time directly and were free and no more serfs. the small village with its castle, which is unfortunately completely disappeared, was raised to town in 1282. The town of Lindau’s rights enjoyed the little people. Since then, lead the Eglofser the Imperial Eagle with the Linden twig in its beak and chose their Amman no official influence. Not only in the place, because to Eglofs once the free im Allgau from Oberstdorf belonged to the pledges.